Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Tigers claim 2022 Kemp-Fry Invitational Titles

Photo courtesy of Trevor MacMillan
Photo courtesy of Trevor MacMillan

On the third and final day of the 2022 Kemp-Fry Invitational at Dalplex, the Dalhousie Tigers men's and women's swimmers claimed top spot in the team totals. 

Dalhousie's Allison McCloy won the first final of the evening, posting a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 2:16.64 in the women's 200m butterfly. Memorial's Heidi Perry was second, followed by fellow Tiger Sophie Idle in third. 

Frederick Chandler-Baas got a second win for the Tigers soon after, out-touching teammate Isaac Bahler in the men's 200m butterfly. Acadia's Kenny Shane was third. 

Acadia's Elizabeth Morrison won the women's 50m breaststroke with a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 33.01. Teammate Ella Collins was second, followed by Dalhousie's Abbey Corish

Not to be outdone, Acadia teammate Gordon Shortt won the men's 50m breaststroke event with a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 28.46. UNB's Ethan Nestoruk and Dal's Jake Gysel were second and third, respectively. Shortt's swim set a new AUS record that was previously set by Dalhousie's Tony Liew at the Kemp-Fry Invitational in 2014. 

Tigers swimmer Reagan Crowell was first to the wall in the women's 100m freestyle event touching in with a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 56.48. She was followed by UNB's Jennifer Moore in second and Memorial's Kate Williams in third. 

Mount Allison's Sebastien Cariaga won the men's 100m freestyle, with Axeman Bo Stokesbury following in second and UNB's Craig Bush in third. 

Sophie Rooney (Acadia) finished in first place women's 200m IM, followed by Dalhousie's Allison McCloy and Kate Tuck in second and third, respectively. All three swimmers earned a spot at the national championship meet with their times. 

Memorial swimmer Matty Whelan earned top spot in the men's 200m IM, with Dalhousie's Alexander D'Alessio placing second, followed by Sea-Hawk Thomas Chafe in third. 

Whelan's Sea-Hawks teammate Kate Williams won the women's 100m backstroke, out-touching Acadia's Natalie Stokes by 0.16 seconds. Third place went to Dalhousie's Mickhaela-Reign Johnson. 

Acadia's Dean Sangster swam a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 55.45 to win the men's 100m backstroke. Dalhousie's Liam Ferguson and Frederick Chandler-Baas were second and third, respectively. 

Axewoman Ella Collins was first to the wall in the women's 200m breaststroke, followed by Dalhousie swimmers Kate Tuck in second and Ella Dobson in third. 

Gordon Shortt earned Acadia's third men's win of the session with a first-place finish in the 200m breaststroke. Teammate Adam Deutsch was second, followed by Dalhousie's Tim McCowan in third. 

In the closest race of the night, Sophie Rooney out-touched Dalhousie's Veronica Hollick by 0.03 seconds to get her second win of the session. Fellow Axewoman Kassidy Hamilton placed third. 

Dalhousie's Liam Ferguson took the top spot in the final of the men's 50m butterfly with a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 24.73. Acadia's Shane Kenny and Marcus Vaillancourt were second and third, respectively. 

Reagan Crowell led a Dalhousie sweep of the top three spots of the 400m freestyle final to secure her second win of the night. Abbey Nichols was second, followed by Sophie Idle in third. 

Tigers teammate Logan Sparkes won the men's 400m freestyle with Memorial's Matty Whelan placing second, followed by the Tigers Cole Mitchell in third. 

The Acadia team of Sophie Rooney, Ella Collins, Kassidy Hamilton and Grace Earle won the women's 4x100m medley relay. Dalhousie's team of Emilie Schofield, Allison McCloy, Veronica Hollick and Reagan Crowell was second, followed by the Memorial team of Kate Williams, Marcy Whelan, Heidi Perry and Kathryn Stokes in third. 

Acadia also won the men's 4x100m medley relay with the team of Dean Sangster, Gordon Shortt, Shane Kenny and Bo Stokesbury-Price besting the Dalhousie team of Liam Ferguson, Tim McCowan, Frederick Chandler-Baas and Logan Sparkes. The UNB squad of Ethan Nestoruk, Blake Kingston, Ahmed Helal and Craig Bush was third. 

After three days of competition, the Tigers women won 11 of the 19 events, including two of the three relays. Acadia had six wins, while UNB and Memorial each had one apiece. 

On the men's side, Acadia won nine of the 19 events, with Dalhousie claiming six. Memorial had three individual wins, while Mount Allison had one. 


1. Dalhousie – 1,026
2. Acadia – 730
3. Memorial – 529
4. UNB – 400
5. Mount Allison – 234 

1. Dalhousie – 956
2. Acadia – 707
3. Memorial – 616
4. UNB – 356
5. Mount Allison – 220

Up next, UNB will face Mount Allison and Dalhousie will host Acadia for Dual Meets on January 14, followed by the AUS Championships hosted by the Memorial Sea-Hawks February 10-12, 2023.